2012 George A. Jeffrey NanoExplorer Symposium

Tuesday, August 21, 10:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.

T.I. Auditorium (ECSS 2.102), The University of Texas at Dallas

10:00 Opening Remarks

Time Event Authors (Presenters underlined)
Session A: Chair Jonathan Yuen
10:10 (A1) PAN-VIM-derived Carbon Nanofibers as Electrode Material for Supercapacitors Srikar Donapati, Dr. Kyung-Hye Jung, and John P. Ferraris
10:22 (A2) Synthesis and Characterization of Triarylamine (TAA) Enchained Perfluorocyclobutyl (PFCB) Aryl Ether Polymers Remya Menon, Jingbo Wu, and Dennis W. Smith Jr.
10:34 (A3) Synthesis and Characterization of poly (acrylonitrile-co-N-vinylimidazole-co-maleic anhydride) terpolymer Jeffrey Chu, Samsuddin Faisal Mahmood, and Dennis W. Smith Jr.
10:46 (A4) Synthesis and Characterization of Sulfonated Perflurocyclopentenyl (PFCP) Aryl Ether Polymers for Fuel Cell PEMs William Chang, Ray Campos, and Dr. Dennis W. Smith Jr.
10:58 (A5) Synthesis Methodology of PEG-PLA Diblock Copolymer Polymersomes Rusheel Guduru, Jimmy Trinh, Nimmy Mammoottil, Amanda Pereira, Eduardo Villarreal, Clesandra Robertson, Shant Aghyarian, and Dennis W. Smith Jr.
11:10 (A6) Microwave Assisted Synthesis of Zinc Oxide Nanoparticles for Organic Solar Cells Samuel R. Cheng, Yun-Ju Lee, and Julia W.P. Hsu
Session B: Chair Austin Howard
11:22 (B1) Fuel Powered Artificial Muscles Using Nickel Titanium Wires and Platinum Black Coated CNT Sheets Pallavi Chamarthy, Carter Haines, and Benjamin Swedlove
11:34 (B2) Fuel-Powered Artificial Muscle CNT Yarns Edward Zhao, Aarathi Raghuraman, Pallavi Chamarty, Carter Haines, and Benjamin Swedlove
11:46 (B3) Photoacoustic Speakers Aarathi Raghuraman, Edward Zhao, Pallavi Chamarthy, Carter S. Haines, and Benjamin Swedlove
11:58 (B4) Artificial Muscles: Using Electrical Current to Actuate Carbon Nanotube Yarns Alexander Munoz, Monica Jung de Andrade, Derrick Tolly, Ray Baughman, and Marcio Lima
12:10 (B5) Optimizing Torsional Actuation for Energy-Saving Applications Daniel Suh, Dongseok Suh, Marcio Dias Lima, Monica Jung de Andrade, and Ray H. Baughman
12:22 - 1:30 Lunch Break
Session C: Chair Xavier Lepro Chavez
1:30 (C1) The Effects of d-cycloserine on the Expression of Certain Proteins in a Rat Model of Tinnitus T.D. Hostetter, M.R. Kapolowicz, E. Donzis, and L.T. Thompson
1:42 (C2) Expression of Novelty in the Hippocampus: Reductions in Post-Burst AHPs of CA1 Pyramidal Neurons after Single Novel Experiences Celeste Huang, Eric Lovitz, Jerome Ellis, Elizabeth Vera, Anna Firman, and L.T. Thompson
1:54 (C3) Preparation of Self-Propelled Nanoscale Motor Michael Trinh, Jessica Hong, Imalka Munaweera, and Kenneth Balkus Jr.
2:10 (C4) Hollow Polystyrene Fibers via Electrospinning Alicia D. D'Souza, Daniel N. Tran, and Kenneth J. Balkus Jr.
2:22 (C5) Mechanical Characterization of Pentane Dried Polyurea Aerogels of Varying Densities for Multifunctional Applications Alex Dao, Michael Hwang, Kevin Lin, Gitogo Churu, and Hongbing Lu
Session D: Chair Kamil Mielczarek
2:38 (D1) Brain Controlled Prosthetics: Towards a fNIRS-Finger Interface Adithya Ganesh, Eric Musselman, Jackson Schad, and Duncan MacFarlane
2:54 (D2) Exploring the Electrolyte Solvation Effect on Improving the Output Power of Thermoelectrochemical Cells Thang Nguyen and Na Li
3:06 (D3) Integration of CNT Antennas into Unmanned Aerial Vehicles Noah Yonack, Rachit Mohan, Nathanael Mayo, and Ali Aliev
3:22 (D4) Vacuum Free Inverted Polymeric Photovoltaic Cells with Carbon Nanotube Charge Collectors Adeesh Jain, Jacob White, Kamil Mielczarek, and Anvar Zakhidov
3:34 (D5) The Study of Carbon Based Materials using ESR Techinque Alexa Nightingale, Zhejian Peng, Anvar Zakhidov, Austin Howard, and Jonathan Yuen
3:50-4:10 Break
Session E: Chair Josef Velten
4:10 (E1) Detecting Aberrant Methylation in Cancer with Consideration of Heterogeneity Kevin Chen, Raahil Sha, and Xiaotu Ma
4:22 (E2) Creating a Radiating Structure for Breast Cancer Self Detection Sheila Chandrahas, Arezoo Modiri, and Kamran Kiasaleh
4:34 (E3) The Effect of Vagus Nerve Stimulation on Traumatic Brain Injury Chandler Burke, David Pruitt, and Robert L. Rennaker
4:46 (E4) Analysis of Learned and Innate Fear in a Rat Model of Autism Subbu Kumarappan, Anwesha Banerjee, and Jonathan Ploski
4:58 (E5) Pattern Characterization and Simulation for ECG Signal Sets Jessica Lanier, Anish Nair, and Kamran Kiasaleh
5:10 (E6) Computer Aided Design of Humanoid Robot Peter-Michael Webb, Akshay Potnuru, and Yonas Tadesse
5:22 Closing Remarks and Certificate Ceremony